Jumping on the Blog Bandwagon

I have been wrestling with the idea to start a blog for a couple of months. My fear and deterrent of doing so has been that I would only show you the absolutely great parts of my life and in turn have my pride slowly kill me.

I find myself only wanting to welcome people into my life when it looks like I have it all together. My husband, Nolan, brought this up to me while I was ferociously vacuuming our apartment before having some students over. He looked at me and said, “This isn’t real.”

Now, what I’m not telling you is that right before vacuuming I spent the entire day deep cleaning every room. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t enjoy having things in order when people come over, but the extent of my own labor was coming from my own woundedness.

So my prayer here is that the Lord may humble me through this experience and that I may be very real with anyone who reads this. No facade that I have it all together. Let us simply share life together.

The tipping point in my decision to finally start a blog comes from two bloggers in particular and many friends.

Emily, over at Hines Home, has made me smile and laugh countless times. Her joy radiates through her blog and I am always eager to share in her life while drinking some coffee.

My next blogging friend that I really look up to is, Meghan. You can find her work at Our Life as First World Missionaries. Often times her posts speak directly to my own soul. Jesus has frequently used her blog to stir up a new prayer within my own heart.

The name of my blog, “A Shower of Roses” comes from St. Therese of Lisieux.  Her “little way” has had a huge impact on my own life. On her deathbed, St. Therese said, “My mission-to make God loved- will begin after my death. I will spend my heaven doing good on earth. I will let fall a shower of roses.”

I pray that this blog gives you a glimpse into a the life of a family striving, and quite often stumbling, on a path of holiness. I hope that anyone who reads this is encouraged to see the simplest blessings of life.

Leave a Reply

