I would recommend

I posted on Thursday that I would post this on Friday so my apologies! I promise to never make e-promises again… 😉

I have always loved picking up what literary critics deem as “classics.” I was an English major in college (as well as Criminal Justice) and am surprised that I haven’t read this title until now.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (insert two horizontal dots above the e in Bronte, thank you!) I do not want to give too much away because I hope you pick up this book sometime.

If you asked me to describe this book in one line I would say:

Wuthering Heights: when childish all consuming passion/love becomes idolization and sin.

The voice and narration of the book comes from Nelly Dean- a housekeeper for the Earnshaw family. She recalls the life and love story, (more like love tangles) of Catherine Earnshaw.

Catherine “loves” many people; Heathcliff (the orphan child taken in by Catherine’s father who is wild and unruly. He is reduced to being a servant when Mr. Earnshaw passes away.) Edgar Linton is the next to catch Catherine’s eye (he is a wealthy, soft spoken, and falls in love with Catherine after she spends 5 weeks with his family due to injury.) I would argue that the person Catherine loves the most is herself. I think her erratic actions and decisions speak to this so I’ll let you be the judge if you would agree with me.

Catherine ends up marrying one of the men but still holds on to the other. One man is terrifying while living out his love for Catherine until the day he dies. He is often described as the devil and his passion for Catherine leads him to great revenge.

I would say that the other man is  just as terrifying in his love for Catherine. He allows her to completely cloud his judgement and allows anything she asks.

One man becomes more aggressive and one more passive in their love for her. Wuthering Heights led me to thoughtful discussion about what happens when people make a loved one their god. It can either be so blatantly clear or it can be covered softly (wow, they really love her and would give anything to her but to a fault)…either way….the love is not ordered. This story captures the aftermath and possibilities of this sin.

One more thought… Emily Bronte connects emotions to environment and I greatly appreciate this. The home of Wuthering Heights is described to show what lurks within it, as do many of the other homes mentioned in the novel.

I would recommend this book as a summer read. Thanks for reading, friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

