“can you feel the death of strangers?”

It feels wrong to me to tap out a post about how I enjoy handmade cards. I had a professor in my undergrad who would ask us, “Can you feel the death of strangers?”

There are terrible acts committed every single day that we the public never hear about.  When you do hear about them, what is your reaction? Can you feel it? Does your stomach catch a little bit?

I mourn for the times that I wasted opportunity of prayer with continuing about my day like nothing ever happened. I admittedly get angry when I hear about a national tragedy and then see people posting about their lives- partying-like nothing is wrong.

It’s hard to admit that I get mad at those people but guess what- I’ve been one of those people and I’m still sinful- my sin just looks differently now.

I want to become a person so connected with others that I can feel when one soul is lost to us. We are the body of Christ. I want to become a person who stops what they are doing at the slightest suffering and turn to our Lord.

I understand that life goes on but can we not all do a bit better when it comes to thinking about our neighbor? It may be a bit deep but I want to completely and utterly love more.

 

Lord have mercy on us.

 

Leave a Reply

